Passion Comes in Waves


La Laguna in Canggu hosted the 15th annual Surftime Awards under the stars on a magic night of friendship, community and appreciation this year. Feeling more like a private house party, our surf community turned out in force to support the Industry Awards and the Surftime Awards fueled by voluminous amounts of Skyy Vodka and Bir Bintang. Although a few of the surfers were over in Japan bravely representing us in the Asian Games, there were still enough stars at the event to fill the sky. With hoots and hollers coming from the VIP section at each trophy announcement, the party had a very homegrown feel on such a gorgeous night of weather.

The authentic Wayang puppet trophies, a Surftime trademark, seemed to match the Gypsy camp groove that is La Laguna. These enviable trophies went to everyone from best new product to best male and female surfer, presented with pride on everybodys mind. And with a surprise and, dare we say, surreal drum performance at halftime, the night flowed along as smooth as the Vodka did. Considering the day started on the beach with the Surftime Awards annual free surf lessons for the Denpasar Orphanage, and ended with a very Humble Made Adi Putra accepting the Surfer of the Year trophy, this years Surftime Awards came off as a family gathering, with good tidings for all and a promise of a great new year to come.

Surftime Awards Winners:

Best Barrel: Tonjo Darmaputra
Best Air: Bronson Meidy
Hardest Charger: Rio Waida
Best Breakout Performer: Agus Setiawan
Best Maneuver: Marlon Gerber
Best Local Ambassador: Rahtu Suargita,
Best Photo Portfolio: Pete Freiden
Photo of the Year: Thiago Okazuka
Best Female Surfer: Dhea Natasya
Best Male Surfer: Made Adi Putra

Best Surf School: Rip Curl School Of Surf
Best Surf Camp: Bobbys Surf Camp
Best Event: Renextop AST # 1
Best Ad Campaign: Volcom
Best Connection: NET1
Best Surf Shop: Rip Curl Canggu
Best Accessory: FCS
Best Boardshort: Hurley
Best Sunglasses: Dragon
Best New Product: Vissla
Best Resto: The Lawn
Best Boards: Lost
Best Message: Insight
Most Core: Da Hui
Eco Award: Quiksilver